Hooray! You have added the first book to your bookshelf. Check it out now!
Create your own shelf sign up
[−]
  • Search Digit-count Valid ISBN Invalid ISBN Valid Barcode Invalid Barcode

Company

By Max Barry

(15)

| Hardcover | 9780385514392

Like Company ?
Join aNobii to see if your friends read it, and discover similar books!

Sign up for free

Book Description

PRAISE FOR JENNIFER GOVERNMENT

“Funny and clever . . . a kind of ad-world version of Dr. Strangelove . . . [Barry] unleashes enough wit and surprise to make his story a total blast.”
New Continue

PRAISE FOR JENNIFER GOVERNMENT

“Funny and clever . . . a kind of ad-world version of Dr. Strangelove . . . [Barry] unleashes enough wit and surprise to make his story a total blast.”
New York Times Book Review

“Barry capitalizes on the strengths of the characters and ends up creating a brilliant finale to a clever story.”
USA Today

“The plot rockets forward on hyperdrive . . . fresh and very clever.”
Boston Globe

“A wicked and wonderful satire . . . Jennifer Government does just about everything right.”
Washington Post Book World

“Extremely funny . . . Barry is a smart writer with a Cassandra’s gift for dark-edged prognostication.”
Time

“A riotous satirical rant . . . [its characters’] excesses . . . make Barry’s world of unregulated corporate greed and unrelenting consumerism so frightening and funny.”
Entertainment Weekly

“It’s Catch-22 by way of The Matrix.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A thoroughly modern tale in the tradition of George Orwell and Aldous Huxley.”
Book

5 Reviews

Login or Sign Up to write a review
  • 1 person finds this helpful

    Aburrido

    La verdad es que lo empecé a leer con ganas pues me lo recomendaron 2 compañeros de trabajo. Al principio tiene su gracia y la idea del autor es francamente buena, pero creo que se e que no es un escrute experimentado y eso hace que el estilo de escr ...(continue)

    La verdad es que lo empecé a leer con ganas pues me lo recomendaron 2 compañeros de trabajo. Al principio tiene su gracia y la idea del autor es francamente buena, pero creo que se e que no es un escrute experimentado y eso hace que el estilo de escritura y el argumento acaben aburriendo. A ni me costo acabarlo.

    Is this helpful?

    Jsmoral said on Sep 5, 2010 | Add your feedback

  • 1 person finds this helpful

    It's one thing to get the feeling that in the grand scheme of things your job doesn't matter much at all, it's another thing to find out your job is in fact absolutely meaningless and serves no real purpose. Max Barry does a wonderfully absurdist job ...(continue)

    It's one thing to get the feeling that in the grand scheme of things your job doesn't matter much at all, it's another thing to find out your job is in fact absolutely meaningless and serves no real purpose. Max Barry does a wonderfully absurdist job of satirizing the corporate office place. This is a must read for anyone who's ever worked in a cube-farm. Though senior management, the evil that is HR, office politics and departmental infighting get somewhat exaggerated for comic effect here, this allows for some very pointed, VERY funny and very true observations. The plot is kind of a mess, the characters aren't much more than two dimensional, it largely falls apart in the end, but Barry's stark writing style and keen skewering of the office place makes Company a hilarious and enjoyable read.

    Is this helpful?

    Cuzzin Todd said on Mar 1, 2008 | Add your feedback

  • 1 person finds this helpful

    This book was so much fun to read. I was seriously laughing out loud at many parts. I had the audio book version of the book and it was outstanding. They did a great job with it and made it very entertaining. I think it is very relevant to read f ...(continue)

    This book was so much fun to read. I was seriously laughing out loud at many parts. I had the audio book version of the book and it was outstanding. They did a great job with it and made it very entertaining. I think it is very relevant to read for anyone who has been in an office setting. I definitely could relate to much of what went on. I think it is an interesting take on how mega corporations are turning their employees into nothing but cogs in a wheel.

    Is this helpful?

    cjspock said on Jul 28, 2007 | Add your feedback

Book Details

  • Rating:
    (15)
    • 5 stars
    • 4 stars
    • 3 stars
    • 2 stars
  • English Books
  • Hardcover 338 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 0385514395
  • ISBN-13: 9780385514392
  • Publisher: Doubleday Books
  • Publish date: 2006-01-01
  • Dimensions: 161 mm x 954 mm x 1,399 mm
  • Also available as: Paperback , Audio CD , Others
Improve_data of this book