Hooray! You have added the first book to your bookshelf. Check it out now!
Create your own shelf sign up
[−]
  • Search Digit-count Valid ISBN Invalid ISBN Valid Barcode Invalid Barcode

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

By Jonathan Safran Foer

(194)

| Paperback | 9780141012698

Like Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close ?
Join aNobii to see if your friends read it, and discover similar books!

Sign up for free

Book Description

"Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel. In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of th Continue

"Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel. In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father? Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012. Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of "Everything is Illuminated", which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and "Eating Animals", and the editor of "A Convergence of Birds".

1500 Reviews

Login or Sign Up to write a review
  • 1 person finds this helpful

    Sweet, painful, tender, incredibly real. An amazing read to rethink the past, the present and the future through the eyes of a young boy who is overwhelmed by the death of his father. The story of a family throughout a century. Incredibly beautiful.

    Is this helpful?

    utti said on Sep 15, 2014 | Add your feedback

  • 1 person finds this helpful

    Protagonista Oskar, una vittima qualunque e possibile di quel giorno. Non un sopravvissuto, né uno dei tanti eroi per un giorno che spalarono macerie per salvare vite umane. “Solo” il figlio di un uomo che quella mattina di fine estate si trovava al ...(continue)

    Protagonista Oskar, una vittima qualunque e possibile di quel giorno. Non un sopravvissuto, né uno dei tanti eroi per un giorno che spalarono macerie per salvare vite umane. “Solo” il figlio di un uomo che quella mattina di fine estate si trovava al 27 piano della torre, destinato a diventare il simbolo del dolore di un intero paese e di una tragedia che, come le migliori, colpisce davvero soltanto chi resta. Catalizzatore una chiave, trovata per caso tra i “resti” del padre, l'idea, la speranza che si tratti di una delle tante “cacce al tesoro” che era solito organizzare per il figlio e che lo porti a scoprirne l'ultimo messaggio mancato.
    Risultato? Un doppio romanzo di formazione.

    <<continua qui: http://www.imieilibri.it/?p=16328>>

    Is this helpful?

    Virginiadara said on Sep 5, 2014 | Add your feedback

  • 1 person finds this helpful

    Profondo, doloroso, commovente e toccante. Un mélange di sentimenti che si traducono in una lettura avvincente a cavallo tra reale e irreale. Impossibile staccare gli occhi dalle pagine, impossibile non lasciarsi stupire dall'eccellente narrativa di ...(continue)

    Profondo, doloroso, commovente e toccante. Un mélange di sentimenti che si traducono in una lettura avvincente a cavallo tra reale e irreale. Impossibile staccare gli occhi dalle pagine, impossibile non lasciarsi stupire dall'eccellente narrativa di Foer.

    Is this helpful?

    GianPollo said on Sep 3, 2014 | Add your feedback

  • 1 person finds this helpful

    Il racconto di Oskar si confonde con quello dei nonni. Storie diverse accomunate dall'incapacità di affrontare il dolore davanti a tragedie umane inspiegabili ancora oggi.

    Is this helpful?

    Em said on Aug 22, 2014 | Add your feedback

  • 1 person finds this helpful

    Dolce e straziante, non si può rimanere indifferenti davanti al dolore di questa famiglia, e non si può non amare il piccolo Oskar.

    Is this helpful?

    Sufi said on Aug 18, 2014 | Add your feedback

Book Details

Improve_data of this book

Groups with this in collection