Hooray! You have added the first book to your bookshelf. Check it out now!
Create your own shelf sign up
[−]
  • Search Digit-count Valid ISBN Invalid ISBN Valid Barcode Invalid Barcode

How Fiction Works

By James Wood

(13)

| Paperback | 9781845950934

Like How Fiction Works ?
Join aNobii to see if your friends read it, and discover similar books!

Sign up for free

Book Description

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realis Continue

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

0 Reviews

Loginor Sign Upto write a review

Book Details

  • Rating:
    (13)
    • 5 stars
    • 4 stars
    • 3 stars
  • English Books
  • Paperback 194 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 1845950933
  • ISBN-13: 9781845950934
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • Publish date: 2008-01-01
  • Dimensions: 90 mm x 890 mm x 1,302 mm Just how big is that?
  • Also available as: Hardcover , Softcover , eBook
Improve_data of this book