Create your own shelf sign up

Together we find better books

[−]
  • Search Conteggio caratteri ISBN valido ISBN non valido Codice a barre valido Codice a barre non valido loading search

Ishmael

A Novel

By

Publisher: Bantam

4.3
(105)

Language:English | Number of Pages: 288 | Format: Hardcover | In other languages: (other languages) Italian

Isbn-10: 0553078755 | Isbn-13: 9780553078756 | Publish date:  | Edition 5 Anv Sub

Also available as: Softcover and Stapled , School & Library Binding , Paperback , Others , Audio Cassette , eBook

Category: Fiction & Literature

Do you like Ishmael ?
Join aNobii to see if your friends read it, and discover similar books!

Sign up for free
Book Description
Winner of the 1992 Turner Tomorrow Fellowship, Ishmael is a unique and captivating novel that has earned a large and passionate following among readers and critics worldwide. One of the most beloved and bestselling novels of spiritual adventure ever published, it is the story of a man who embarks on a highly provocative intellectual adventure with a gorilla--a journey of the mind and spirit that changes forever the way he sees the world and humankind's place in it. For this special fifth anniversary edition, the author has written a frank and informative introduction in which he discusses the worldwide Ishmael phenomenon. Timed to coincide with the eagerly anticipated publication of My Ishmael and the release of the movie Ishmael, this special edition is sure to attract new readers and reinforce Daniel Quinn's reputation as one of the most compelling and visionary writers of our age.
Sorting by
  • 5

    Visionario, profetico, utopico.
    Affascinante, insolito, eccentrico.
    Un incontro al vertice tra Socrate e King Kong, nel quale si dibatte sul destino dell'umanità.
    Una storia sulla nascita e rinascita, ...continue

    Visionario, profetico, utopico.
    Affascinante, insolito, eccentrico.
    Un incontro al vertice tra Socrate e King Kong, nel quale si dibatte sul destino dell'umanità.
    Una storia sulla nascita e rinascita, la legge e la vita, la natura e la cultura, la cooperazione e il collegamento, la coltivazione e la civiltà, la produzione e la distruzione, il seme e l'avidità, Adamo ed Eva.
    Una nuova rivoluzione tribale potrà avere la meglio sull'incalzante relativismo morale verso cui si avvia la specie umana?

    said on 

  • 0

    Capolavoro

    ...come non consigliare questo must? Uno sguardo critico nei confronti di chi non conosce madre natura e ha imposto al mondo lo stereotipo di madre cultura. Un libro indimenticabile.

    said on 

  • 4

    This is the second time I read this book in about a year or so. Not only have I added it to the list of fundamental books I want to carry with me (this time around, I purchased my own, while the firs ...continue

    This is the second time I read this book in about a year or so. Not only have I added it to the list of fundamental books I want to carry with me (this time around, I purchased my own, while the first time I read one from the public library), but I have also recommended to my oldest son, who is thrilled with it. Daniel Quinn's book, a philosophical novel that truly has more of essay or non-fiction than anything else, is definitely an eye opener. Using the figure of a gorilla who is capable of communicating with the narrator (perhaps the weakest part of the story, although it's difficult to see how else the author could have proceeded to tell his story), we learn to re-consider all our given assumptions about civilization, culture and nature. A highly recommended read. As in the case of the writings of John Zerzan and other so-called "primitivists" (a label that could be questioned), the critics may point out that a return to a pre-civilized life is just impossible. And what? Is that exactly what they propose? It's not clear to me. In any case, I don't think they are providing answers, but rather asking the questions. If civilization was indeed a big mistake (and, after reading them, it seems likely), we may as well accept it, even if we don't like where that might take us. Otherwise, we are just knowingly fooling ourselves.

    said on 

  • 4

    Philosophical novel where Daniel Quinn explores the idea of civilization and its relationship to sustainability, ethics and, in general, the prospects of survival for life on earth itself. Using the ...continue

    Philosophical novel where Daniel Quinn explores the idea of civilization and its relationship to sustainability, ethics and, in general, the prospects of survival for life on earth itself. Using the style of a socratic dialogue, the author transcribes the supposed dialogue between a human interested in finding out how to save the world and a gorilla which leads his development, questioning the very foundations of human civilization. Daniel Quinn clearly defends the view that the culprit of today's problems is not so much capitalism (or any other particular form of social or economic organization) as civilization itself. In opposition to this, he defends the sort of tribal societies that predated civilization, therefore placing himself (and the book) in the tradition of Green Anarchism or Anarcho-Primitivism that is usually identified with John Zerzan, for example.

    "Ishmael" is actually a very good read. It is relatively entertaining (if you care about these issues, of course), and poses plenty of good questions that we normally overlook. It's good food for thought.

    said on 

  • 4

    Tutto parte da un annuncio nel quale un maestro cerca un allievo per salvare il mondo.
    Il suddetto maestro è un gorilla, saggio depositario della conoscenza e capace di comunicare con gli uomini.
    L’al ...continue

    Tutto parte da un annuncio nel quale un maestro cerca un allievo per salvare il mondo.
    Il suddetto maestro è un gorilla, saggio depositario della conoscenza e capace di comunicare con gli uomini.
    L’allievo è semplicemente un uomo desideroso di conoscere.
    Il mestro stimola l’allievo al ragionamento e tramite semplici dialoghi e domande racconta il ruolo dell’uomo sul pianeta Terra, i miti della nostra civiltà e smonta letteralmente poco per volta tutte le convinzione della società moderna.
    Particolarmente interessante è la reinterpretazione di alcuni passaggi delle Sacre Scritture.
    In fin dei conti, non bisogna prendere per oro colato quello che l’autore vuole dirci però quantomeno rappresenta una nuova visione delle cose, un punto di vista diverso dal solito.
    Ti fa riflettere e non è cosa da poco.

    said on 

  • 4

    è una specie di saggio romanzato. non è neppure bellissimo, la trama non è nulla di speciale (a parte il fatto che il maestro è un gorilla, e l'allievo un homo sapiens sapiens) e la lingua usata non b ...continue

    è una specie di saggio romanzato. non è neppure bellissimo, la trama non è nulla di speciale (a parte il fatto che il maestro è un gorilla, e l'allievo un homo sapiens sapiens) e la lingua usata non brilla. ma è dannatamente interessante, e vale la pena leggerlo, e rifletterci un po' su. se potete fatelo, tanto per farvi un' idea, ragionarci...in caso chiedetemelo..ve lo passo in pdf.

    said on 

  • 0

    Un uomo che vuole salvare il mondo risponde all’inserzione di un misterioso maestro e scopre che costui è un enorme gorilla che lo guiderà, giorno dopo giorno, in un lungo ragionamento sui misteri, le ...continue

    Un uomo che vuole salvare il mondo risponde all’inserzione di un misterioso maestro e scopre che costui è un enorme gorilla che lo guiderà, giorno dopo giorno, in un lungo ragionamento sui misteri, le menzogne e le presunte verità della creazione dell’essere umano.

    "Con la scomparsa dell'uomo, il gorilla avrà qualche speranza?"

    "Con la scomparsa del gorilla, l'uomo avrà qualche speranza?"

    said on 

  • 5

    Fascinanting and enlightening, a journey through mankind's evolution with a prospective of a different relationship between human beings and Earth.

    said on 

Sorting by