Create your own shelf sign up

Together we find better books

[−]
  • Search Conteggio caratteri ISBN valido ISBN non valido Codice a barre valido Codice a barre non valido loading search

We Need to Talk About Kevin

(Five Star Fiction)

By

Publisher: Serpent's Tail

4.3
(633)

Language:English | Number of Pages: 500 | Format: Paperback | In other languages: (other languages) French , German , Italian , Spanish , Greek , Swedish

Isbn-10: 1852424672 | Isbn-13: 9781852424671 | Publish date: 

Also available as: Hardcover , Audio Cassette , Audio CD , Others , eBook

Category: Family, Sex & Relationships , Fiction & Literature , Teens

Do you like We Need to Talk About Kevin ?
Join aNobii to see if your friends read it, and discover similar books!

Sign up for free
Book Description
A stunning examination of how tragedy affects a town, a marriage, and a family, for readers of Rosellen Brown's Before and After and Jane Hamilton's A Map of the World.

That neither nature nor nurture bears exclusive responsibility for a child's character is self-evident. But such generalizations provide cold comfort when it's your own son who's just opened fire on his fellow students and whose class photograph--with its unseemly grin--is blown up on the national news.

The question of who's to blame for teenage atrocity tortures our narrator, Eva Khatchadourian. Two years ago, her son, Kevin, murdered seven of his fellow high-school students, a cafeteria worker, and a popular algebra teacher. Because he was only fifteen at the time of the killings, he received a lenient sentence and is now in a prison for young offenders in upstate New York.

Telling the story of Kevin's upbringing, Eva addresses herself to her estranged husband through a series of letters. Fearing that her own shortcomings may have shaped what her son has become, she confesses to a deep, long-standing ambivalence about both motherhood in general and Kevin in particular. How much is her fault?

We Need to Talk About Kevin offers no pat explanations for why so many white, well-to-do adolescents--whether in Pearl, Paducah, Springfield, or Littleton--have gone nihilistically off the rails while growing up in suburban comfort. Instead, Lionel Shriver tells a compelling, absorbing, and resonant story while framing these horrifying tableaux of teenage carnage as metaphors for the larger tragedy--the tragedy of a country where everything works, nobody starves, and anything can be bought but a sense of purpose.

Sorting by
  • *** This comment contains spoilers! ***

    4

    Romanzo potente e penetrante, che lascia davvero tanti pensieri, alquanto angoscianti.
    Lettere di una madre che cerca di analizzare le situazioni, i momenti, che hanno portato il figlio adolescente a compiere un efferato massacro nella sua scuola.

    said on 

  • *** This comment contains spoilers! ***

    0

    aver cresciuto un "Amokläufer" senza essersene accorti è possibile?

    lettere di una madre al marito defunto per spiegare a se stessa ed a lui come è stato possibile che il figlio maggiore diventasse uno spietato assassino. Sulla scia dei vari tristi avvenimenti di cronaca statunitense che vedono ragazzi protagonisti di incursioni armate all'interno dell'Istituto c ...continue

    lettere di una madre al marito defunto per spiegare a se stessa ed a lui come è stato possibile che il figlio maggiore diventasse uno spietato assassino. Sulla scia dei vari tristi avvenimenti di cronaca statunitense che vedono ragazzi protagonisti di incursioni armate all'interno dell'Istituto con conseguente uccisione più o meno pianificata dei propri compagni ed insegnanti una retrospettiva da parte di una madre emarginata dopo che il figlio ha compiuto una strage uccidendo i propri compagni di scuola nonché vicini vista l'ambientazione in una cittadina nella quale tutti si conoscono

    said on 

  • 4

    Un pugno nello stomaco

    Un ragazzo malvagio. Una madre e moglie inadeguata. Una storia terribile.
    Un libro che scatena forti emozioni e ti fa riflettere.
    All’inizio l’ho trovato pretenzioso. Ho odiato questo libro. Ho odiato la protagonista.
    Alla fine, dopo aver voltato l’ultima pagina (in senso figura ...continue

    Un ragazzo malvagio. Una madre e moglie inadeguata. Una storia terribile.
    Un libro che scatena forti emozioni e ti fa riflettere.
    All’inizio l’ho trovato pretenzioso. Ho odiato questo libro. Ho odiato la protagonista.
    Alla fine, dopo aver voltato l’ultima pagina (in senso figurato, perché questo è un e-book), ho pensato: cavolo! Che bella storia ben congegnata!
    P.S.
    E’ stato il primo libro che ho messo sulla mia wish-list, nel 2008, quando mi sono iscritta ad Anobii.

    said on 

  • 4

    ... e ora parliamo di noi

    "Per quanto ammirevole, il tuo bisogno impellente di sacrificare l’esistenza per il bene di un’altra persona poteva dipendere dal fatto che quando avevi la vita interamente nelle tue mani, non sapevi che fartene. Immolarsi a volte è un’utile scappatoia. So che questo può sembrarti poco gentile, m ...continue

    "Per quanto ammirevole, il tuo bisogno impellente di sacrificare l’esistenza per il bene di un’altra persona poteva dipendere dal fatto che quando avevi la vita interamente nelle tue mani, non sapevi che fartene. Immolarsi a volte è un’utile scappatoia. So che questo può sembrarti poco gentile, ma io credo che il tuo desiderio smodato di liberarti di te stesso – se questo concetto non è troppo astratto – abbia caricato nostro figlio di un terribile fardello.” (p.76)

    said on 

  • 4

    I was warned by a few friends, most of whom are mothers, about how confronting this book is before I started reading it. Maybe my expectation of the disconcerting nature of the book is therefore over-inflated, which resulted in my initial disappointment of the effect the story has brought upon me ...continue

    I was warned by a few friends, most of whom are mothers, about how confronting this book is before I started reading it. Maybe my expectation of the disconcerting nature of the book is therefore over-inflated, which resulted in my initial disappointment of the effect the story has brought upon me. However, as a whole, I like the way the narrator traced back and reconstructed the history of her relationship with her family. From the very beginning the story is over-shadowed by the fact that Kevin kills 9 people three days before he turned 16. However, it is not until the last two letters that the most unbearable truth about the fate of the family is disclosed to the readers. I found some of the allusions to the American culture and slangs hard to get into sometimes, but it doesn't mine the "pleasure" (if this is right word to describe the process of reading) I experienced from its good story-telling.

    said on 

  • 5

    Agghiacciante

    Se devo dare un voto gli darei il massimo. Il contenuto è agghiacciante, un pugno nello stomaco ma che stimola ampie riflessioni sul ruolo dei genitori e dei figli. Inoltre è scritto benissimo. Da leggere.

    said on 

  • 3

    Non è malaccio solo che questa indagine psicologica che la madre di Kevin compie a in forma epistolare alla fine mi ha stancato. Prevedibile, ma credo possa piacere alle lettrici di sesso femminile.

    said on 

Sorting by