Across the Land and the Water by W G Sebald
Across the Land and the Water by W G Sebald

Across the Land and the Water

Selected Poems 1964-2001
by W G Sebald

Translated by Iain Galbraith
( )( )( )( )( )(0)
"Across the Land and the Water" brings together poems published during W.G. Sebald's life, with an additional selection of those which were found in his literary archives in Marbach and never published while he was alive. Arranged chronologically, from work published during his student days in the 1960s to the longer narratives he produced during the 1980s, the poems touch on the themes which were closest to Sebald - nature and history; forgetting and remembering; borders, journeys and landscapes. The poems in "Across the Land and the Water" express in short, lyrical form the same distinctive insight and sensitivity that shaped W.G. Sebald's great works of prose fiction. "Even in a seemingly simple six-line poem, the sudden weight of historical events can be felt." ("Economist"). "A significant addition to Sebald's main achievement - full of things that are beautiful and fascinating." (Andrew Motion, "Guardian"). "The quintessential European writer, erudite, worldly and aware of the inescapable legacies of war ...Sebald readers can hear the master's voice again." (Gerald Dawe, "Irish Times"). W.G.
Sebald was born in Germany in 1944 and settled permanently in England in 1970, where he was Professor of European Literature at the University of East Anglia until his death in 2001. He is the author of four works of fiction: "The Emigrants", which won the Berlin Literature Prize, the Heinrich Heine Prize, and the Joseph Breitbach Prize; "The Rings of Saturn; Vertigo; and Austerlitz", which was awarded the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. Alongside this stand books of poetry "For Years Now", "After Nature", "Unrecounted", and "Across the Land and the Water", and the non-fiction books "On the Natural History of Destruction and Campo Santo".