Echoes of the Goddess by Darrell Schweitzer
Echoes of the Goddess by Darrell Schweitzer
Echoes of the Goddess by Darrell Schweitzer
Echoes of the Goddess by Darrell Schweitzer

Echoes of the Goddess

Tales of Terror and Wonder from the End of Time

by Darrell Schweitzer

( )( )( )( )( )(0)

0Reviews0Quotations0Notes

Description

"[This] novel has immense power in its climax," said The Encyclopedia of Fantasy about Darrell Schweitzer's 1982 novel, THE SHATTERED GODDESS. Now, at last, here's the companion volume to that work, a cycle of eleven stories set "in the time of the death of the Goddess." This is an Earth of the far future, when the planet has declined into chaos, and darkness looms at the end of human history. Here you'll meet...a dadar, a wizard's shadow attempting to become a man; two sorcerers grotesquely transformed by their fratricidal hatred; a musician who becomes the lord of death; a boy-priest consumed by divine visions; and a witch who loves a god, among many others. Here's strangeness, wonder, and terror in the tradition of Clark Ashton Smith's Xothique or Jack Vance's The Dying Earth. Schweitzer is a master fantasist, whom anthologist Mike Ashley once called "today's supreme stylist." Great fantasy reading, now collected into book form for the first time!
Loading...