The Suspicion at Sanditon by Carrie Bebris
The Suspicion at Sanditon by Carrie Bebris

The Suspicion at Sanditon

Or, The Disappearence of Lady Denham
by Carrie Bebris
(*)(*)(*)( )( )(3)
Suspicion at Sanditon, a new adventure in Carrie Bebris’s award-winning Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery series, takes Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth Darcy to Sanditon, the setting and title of Jane Austen’s final work.

In Sanditon, along with their friend Miss Charlotte Heywood, the Darcy's encounter an array of eccentric inhabitants that includes: Mr. Thomas Parker, an enthusiast determined to develop the quiet coastal village into a popular seabathing resort; Sir Edward Denham, an impoverished baronet with more sensibility than sense; and Lady Denham, a childless, twice-widowed dowager with a fortune to bequeath and a flight of distant relations circling for a place in her will.

When Lady Denham goes missing, most assume one of her would-be heirs has grown impatient. But when other ladies disappear one by one, it seems that some resident menace threatens not merely an individual widow, but the entire village. Does a serial kidnapper lurk in Sanditon, or is an even more sinister force at work? Mr. and Mrs. Darcy find themselves drawn into a frantic effort to discover what has happened to the missing women, before Miss Heywood—or Elizabeth herself—becomes the next target.